Media Advisory: 1 March 2022

ICC Deputy Prosecutors to be sworn in on 7 March 2022: Practical information


A swearing-in Ceremony for the new Deputy Prosecutors of the International Criminal Court ("ICC" or the "Court"), Ms Nazhat Shameem Khan and Mr Mame Mandiaye Niang, will be held on Monday, 7 March 2022 at 10:00 a.m. (CET) in Courtroom II at the Seat of the Court in The Hague, The Netherlands.

Ms Nazhat Shameem Khan (Fiji) and Mr Mame Mandiaye Niang (Senegal), were elected as ICC Deputy Prosecutors on 10 December 2021, for a nine-year term, at the twentieth session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute ("ASP").

Ms Khan and Mr Niang will take a public oath of office in accordance with article 45 of the Rome Statute. H.E. Kateřina Sequensová, Vice-President of the ASP, Judge Piotr Hofmański, President of the Court, and Mr Karim Asad Ahmad Khan, ICC Prosecutor, will also deliver remarks at the Ceremony.

Ms Nazhat Shameem Khan and Mr Mame Mandiaye Niang will officially assume their functions as Deputy Prosecutors on 8 March 2022.

Webstreaming: The Ceremony can be followed live on the ICC website, in English and French, and on the ICC Facebook accounts: English, French.

Audio-visual materials: Images of the Ceremony will be available for download in video (MPEG-4) and audio (MPEG-3) format, and for viewing on the official ICC YouTube Channel.

Photographs of the Ceremony will be available on the ICC Flickr account. For information on audio-visual matters, please contact [email protected]

For further information, please contact Fadi El Abdallah, Spokesperson and Head of Public Affairs Unit, International Criminal Court, by telephone at: +31 (0)70 515-9152 or +31 (0)6 46448938 or by e-mail at: [email protected]

You can also follow the Court's activities on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube and Flickr