Assembly of States Parties

The Assembly of States Parties ("the Assembly") is the Court's management oversight and legislative body and is composed of representatives of the States which have ratified or acceded to the Rome Statute.

In accordance with article 112 of the Rome Statute, the Assembly of States Parties meets at the seat of Court in The Hague or at the United Nations Headquarters in New York once a year and, when circumstances so require, may hold special sessions. 

Each State Party has one representative in the Assembly who may be accompanied by alternates and advisers. The Rome Statute further provides that each State Party has one vote, although every effort shall be made to reach decisions by consensus. States that are not party to the Rome Statute may take part in the work of the Assembly as observers, without the right to vote. The President, the Prosecutor and the Registrar or their representatives may also participate, as appropriate, in the meetings of the Assembly.

In accordance with article 112 of the Rome Statute, the Assembly is tasked with providing management oversight to the Presidency, the Prosecutor and the Registrar regarding administration of the Court. In addition, the Assembly adopts the Rules of Procedure and Evidence and the Elements of Crime.

At its annual sessions, the Assembly considers a number of issues, including the budget of the Court, the status of contributions and the audit reports. In addition, the Assembly considers the reports on the activities of the Bureau, the Court and the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims.

The Assembly is further tasked with election of, inter alia, the Judges, the Prosecutor and Deputy Prosecutors. The Assembly may also decide, by secret ballot, on the removal from office of a Judge, the Prosecutor or Deputy Prosecutors.

Visit the ASP website