Media Advisory :

Six newly elected ICC judges to be sworn in on 10 March 2021


A swearing-in Ceremony for six newly elected judges of the International Criminal Court (ICC) will be held on Wednesday 10 March 2021, at 11:00 (The Hague local time) in Courtroom I at the seat of the Court in The Hague (Netherlands). Due to COVID-19 restrictions, some of the participants will attend remotely.

Judges Ms Joanna Korner (United Kingdom), Mr Gocha Lordkipanidze (Georgia), Ms María del Socorro Flores Liera (Mexico), Mr Sergio Gerardo Ugalde Godinez (Costa Rica), Ms Miatta Maria Samba (Sierra Leone), and Ms Althea Violet Alexis-Windsor (Trinidad and Tobago) were elected for nine-year terms during the nineteenth session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute in December 2020.

The newly elected judges will take a public oath declaring: "I solemnly undertake that I will perform my duties and exercise my powers as a judge of the International Criminal Court honourably, faithfully, impartially and conscientiously, and that I will respect the confidentiality of investigations and prosecutions and the secrecy of deliberations".

Webstreaming: The Ceremony can be followed live on the ICC website, in English and French, and on the ICC Facebook accounts: EnglishFrench.

AV materials: Images of the Ceremony will be available for download in video (MPEG-4) and audio (MPEG-3) format, and for viewing on the official ICC YouTube Channel.

Photographs of the Ceremony will be available on the ICC Flickr account. For information on audio-visual matters, please contact [email protected]

For further information, please contact Fadi El Abdallah, Spokesperson and Head of Public Affairs Unit, International Criminal Court, by telephone at: +31 (0)70 515-9152 or +31 (0)6 46448938 or by e-mail at: [email protected]

You can also follow the Court's activities on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, YouTube, Instagram and Flickr