

Results of the 2014 election of members of the ICC Disciplinary Board and Disciplinary Appeals Board

In accordance with Articles 36 and 44 du Code of Professional Conduct for Counsel (ICC-ASP/4/32), the members of the Disciplinary Board and the representatives of counsel on the Disciplinary Appeals Board of the ICC are appointed following the second elections organised by the Registry in this regard. By way of letter dated 25 April 2014, the Registry began the process of elections by informing national bar associations, independent representative bodies of counsel or legal associations, as well as all lawyers admitted to the Court's List of Counsel that elections for the disciplinary organs of the Court would be taking place and inviting announcements of candidacy by 25 July 2014 at the latest.

For the purpose of electing the members of the disciplinary organs of the Court, in accordance with the provisions set out in Regulations 147 (d) and 148 of the Regulations of the Registry, the Registry dispatched a letter dated 29 August 2014 to all the counsel on the Court's List of Counsel. This letter included the list of candidates proposed as well as other relevant information and stated that votes had to be received by the Counsel Support Section by 14 October 2014 at the latest. The Section received one hundred and forty (140) ballots.

Once the ballot was closed, and in order to guarantee the transparency of the election, the Registry appointed a panel whose task was to count the votes. The members of the panel consisted of Mr. Esteban Peralta-Losilla, Chief of the Counsel Support Section; Ms. Sarah Pellet, Counsel, Office of Public Counsel for Victims, and Mr. Xavier-Jean Keïta, Principal Counsel, Office of Public Counsel for the Defence.

The panel finished its task of counting the votes on Monday, 18 November 2014 and made the following unanimous findings:

- Of the one hundred and forty (140) votes received, one (1) was post-marked 21 October 2014, therefore rendering it invalid;
- After the final count of the 139 valid votes, the elected members are delegated to the disciplinary bodies of the Court in accordance with the following scheme:

I. Three (3) Members of the Disciplinary Board

- A. Two permanent members
 - 1) NDIAYE, Assane Dioma (Senegal)
 - 2) LEGROS, Pierre (Belgium)
- B. One Alternate Member LYONS, Beth (United States of America)

II. Three (3) Members of the Disciplinary Appeals Board

- A. Two permanent members
 - 1) GALLANT, Kenneth S. (United States of America)
 - 2) KARNAVAS, Michael G. (United States of America)
- B. One Alternate Member HAMPTON, Nigel (New Zealand)