ICC-02/11-01/12-69 23-03-2015 1/4 EC PT OA

Cour Pénale Internationale



International Criminal Court

Original: English

No.: ICC-02/11-01/12 Date: 20 March 2015

THE PRESIDENCY

Before:

Judge Joyce Aluoch, First Vice-President Judge Kuniko Ozaki, Second Vice-President Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng

SITUATION IN THE REPUBLIC OF CÔTE D'IVOIRE

IN THE CASE OF THE PROSECUTOR v. SIMONE GBAGBO

Public with Public Annexes I and II

Decision replacing two judges in the Appeals Chamber

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court

to:

The Office of the Prosecutor Ms Fatou Bensouda Mr James Stewart Ms Helen Brady	Counsel for Mr Laurent Gbagbo Ms Sylvia Geraghty
Legal Representatives of the Victims	Legal Representative of Applicants
Unrepresented Victims	Unrepresented Applicants for Participation/Reparation
The Office of Public Counsel for the Victims Ms Paolina Massidda	The Office of Public Counsel for the Defence
States Representatives <i>Counsel for Côte d'Ivoire</i> Mr Jean-Pierre Mignard Mr Jean-Paul Benoit	Amicus Curiae
DECICEDY	

REGISTRY

Registrar Mr Herman von Hebel	Counsel Support Section
Victims and Witnesses Unit	Detention Section
Victims Participation and Reparations Section	Other

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court notes that on 17 December 2014, Côte d'Ivoire filed before the Appeals Chamber the "Appel de la République de Côte d'Ivoire sur la décision de la Chambre préliminaire I « relative à l'exception d'irrecevabilité soulevée par la Côte d'Ivoire s'agissant de l'affaire concernant Simone Gbagbo »" ("appeal") in the case of *The Prosecutor v. Simone Gbagbo* ("*Gbagbo*").¹

On 18 March 2015, Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert filed a request before the Presidency pursuant to article 41(1) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("Statute") and rule 33(1) of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence ("Rules"), wherein she requested to be excused from her function as a judge of the Appeals Chamber for purposes of the appeal in *Gbagbo*.

On 20 March 2015, Judge Fernández de Gurmendi filed a request before the remaining members of the Presidency, wherein she asked to be excused from the deliberations of the Presidency on Judge Van den Wyngaert's request for excusal from the Appeals Chamber on the appeal. On 20 March 2015, the remaining members of the Presidency granted this request. On the same date, Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng assumed responsibilities as a member of the Presidency for the purpose of deliberating on Judge Van den Wyngaert's request for excusal from sitting on the appeal in accordance with regulations 10 and 11(2) of the Regulations of the Court.

On the same date, Judge Fernández de Gurmendi also filed a request before the Presidency, pursuant to article 41(1) of the Statute and rule 33(1) of the Rules, wherein she asked to be excused from her function as a judge of the Appeals Chamber for purposes of the appeal in *Gbagbo*. In the same request, Judge Fernández de Gurmendi also asked to be excused from the deliberations of the Presidency on her request for excusal from the Appeals Chamber on the appeal. On 20 March 2015, the remaining members of the Presidency granted this request. On the same date, Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng assumed responsibilities as a member of the Presidency for the purpose of deliberating on Judge Fernández de Gurmendi's request for excusal from sitting on the appeal in accordance with regulations 10 and 11(2) of the Regulations of the Court.

¹ ICC-02/11-01/12-48.

On 20 March 2015, the Presidency granted Judge Van den Wyngaert and Judge Fernández de Gurmendi's respective requests for excusal from the Appeals Chamber for purposes of the appeal in *Gbagbo* (Annexes I and II).

The Presidency recalls article 39(1) and (2)(b)(i) of the Statute, rule 38 of the Rules and regulations 12 and 15(1) of the Regulations of the Court.

The Presidency hereby decides, for the purpose of hearing the appeal, to temporarily attach Judge Marc Perrin de Brichambaut and Judge Chang-ho Chung, currently assigned to the Pre-Trial Division, to the Appeals Chamber. The Presidency selected Judge Perrin de Brichambaut and Judge Chung by lot from a roster of eligible replacement judges. This roster will be made public and will henceforth be updated every six months. In preparing the roster, the Presidency paid due attention to case-related conflicts as well as the workload of eligible replacement judges. With respect to workload, the Presidency has excluded from the roster presiding judges of active trials and single judges of confirmation of charges proceedings, unless such judges have indicated a desire to be included in the roster.

Accordingly, the Appeals Chamber shall be composed as follows for purposes of the appeal:

Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng Judge Howard Morrison Judge Marc Perrin de Brichambaut Judge Piotr Hofmański Judge Chang-ho Chung

The Presidency orders the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the case.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Joyce Aluoch First Vice-President

Dated this 20 March 2015 At The Hague, The Netherlands

No. ICC-02/11-01/12