# Cour Pénale Internationale



# International Criminal Court

Original: English No.: ICC-Pres-02-15

Date: 16 March 2015

### THE PRESIDENCY

**Before:** 

Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi, President Judge Joyce Aluoch, First Vice-President Judge Kuniko Ozaki, Second Vice-President

### **Public**

Decision on the constitution of Pre-Trial Chambers and on the assignment of the Mali situation

for

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court to:

The Office of the Prosecutor

Counsel for the Defence

Fatou Bensouda James Stewart

**Legal Representative of the Victims** 

Legal Representative of the Applicants

**Unrepresented Victims** 

**Unrepresented** Applicants

Participation/Reparation

The Office of Public Counsel for

**Victims** 

Paolina Massidda

The Office of Public Counsel for

the Defence

Xavier-Jean Keïta

States' Representatives

**Amicus Curiae** 

### REGISTRY

Registrar

Herman von Hebel

**Counsel Support Section** 

Esteban Peralta Losilla

Victims and Witnesses Unit

Nigel Verrill

**Detention Section**Paddy Craig

**Victims Participation and Reparations** 

Section

Fiona McKay

Other

Pre-Trial Chamber I Pre-Trial Chamber II THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court ("Court");

**NOTING** the decision of the Presidency dated 3 July 2014 constituting the Pre-Trial Chambers whereby, *inter alia*, Pre-Trial Chamber I was composed of Judges Ekaterina Trendafilova, Christine Van den Wyngaert and Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi and Pre-Trial Chamber II was composed of Judges Ekaterina Trendafilova, Christine Van den Wyngaert and Cuno Tarfusser;<sup>1</sup>

**NOTING** that the term of office of Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova ended on 10 March 2015;

**NOTING** the assignment of Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi to the Appeals Division in accordance with article 39(1) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("Statute") pursuant to her election as President of the Court;<sup>2</sup>

**NOTING** the decision of the Presidency of 13 March 2015 assigning judges to divisions whereby, *inter alia*, Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert was assigned to the Appeals Division, Judge Joyce Alouch was assigned to the Trial Division and Judges Cuno Tarfusser, Marc Perrin de Brichambaut, Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua, Péter Kovács and Chang-ho Chung were assigned to the Pre-Trial Division in accordance with article 39(1) of the Statute and rule 4*bis*(2) of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence ("Rules");<sup>3</sup>

**CONSIDERING** that judges assigned to the Appeals Division shall serve only in that division pursuant to article 39(4) of the Statute;

**NOTING** article 39(1) and (4) of the Statute concerning the assignment of judges;

**NOTING** regulation 46(1) of the Regulations of the Court, which provides that "[t]he Presidency shall constitute permanent Pre-Trial Chambers with fixed compositions";

**NOTING** rule 38 of the Rules and regulation 15(1) of the Regulations of the Court concerning the replacement of judges;

<sup>3</sup> See Presidency, Decision assigning judges to divisions, 13 March 2015, ICC-02/05-01/12-28.

\_

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Decision on the constitution of Pre-Trial Chambers, 3 July 2014, ICC-02/05-01/12-26.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> Press Release, Judge Fernández de Gurmendi elected ICC President for 2015-2018; Judges Aluoch and Ozaki elected First and Second Vice-President respectively, 11 March 2015, ICC-CPI-20150311-PR1096.

HEREBY DECIDES to temporarily attach Judge Joyce Aluoch, currently assigned to the Trial Division, to the Pre-Trial Division;

#### **HEREBY DECIDES** that henceforth:

- (i) The situation in Mali shall be assigned to Pre-Trial Chamber I; and
- (ii) The Pre-Trial Chambers shall be constituted as follows:

Pre-Trial Chamber 1 - CIV; Libya; Mali; Registered Vessels

Judge Joyce Aluoch

Judge Cuno Tarfusser

Judge Péter Kovács

Pre-Trial Chamber II - CAR I; CAR II; Darfur; DRC; Kenya; Uganda

Judge Cuno Tarfusser

Judge Marc Perrin de Brichambaut

Judge Chang-ho Chung

**ORDERS** the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the CAR I, CAR II, CIV, Darfur, DRC, Kenya, Libya, Mali, Registered Vessels and Uganda situations and cases therein.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi

President

Dated this 16 March 2015

At The Hague, The Netherlands