Cour Pénale Internationale



International Criminal Court

Original: English

No.: ICC-01/05-01/08
Date: 20 July 2010

2000, 20 0 0..., 20

THE PRESIDENCY

Before:

Judge Sang-Hyun Song, President

Judge Fatoumata Dembele Diarra, First Vice-President

Judge Hans-Peter Kaul, Second Vice-President

SITUATION IN THE CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC

IN THE CASE OF THE PROSECUTOR v. JEAN-PIERRE BEMBA GOMBO

Public

Decision replacing judges in Trial Chamber III

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court to:

The Office of the Prosecutor

Mr Luis Moreno Ocampo, Prosecutor

Ms Fatou Bensouda, Deputy-Prosecutor

Counsel for the Defence

Mr Nkwebe Liriss

Mr Aimé Kilolo-Musamba

Legal Representatives of the Victims

Ms Marie-Edith Douzima-Lawson

Legal Representatives of the Applicants

Unrepresented Victims

Unrepresented Applicants (Participation/Reparation)

The Office of Public Counsel for Victims

Ms Paolina Massidda

The Office of Public Counsel for the

Defence

Mr Xavier-Jean Keïta

States' Representatives

Amicus Curiae

REGISTRY

Registrar

Ms Silvana Arbia

Defence Support Section

Mr Esteban Peralta Losilla

Deputy Registrar

Mr Didier Preira

Victims and Witnesses Unit

Ms Maria Luisa Martinod-Jacome

Detention Section

Mr Anders Backman

Victims Participation and Reparations

Section

Ms Fiona Mckay

Other

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court;

NOTING its decision of 18 September 2009 constituting Trial Chamber III and referring to it the case of *The Prosecutor v. Jean-Pierre Bemba Gombo*; noting further that by that decision Trial Chamber III was composed of Judge Elizabeth Odio Benito, Judge Adrian Fulford and Judge Joyce Aluoch;¹

NOTING the request of Judge Elizabeth Odio Benito and Judge Adrian Fulford of 28 June 2010 to be excused from exercising their functions as judges of Trial Chamber III pursuant to article 41 of the Rome Statute (hereinafter "Statute") and rule 33 of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence (hereinafter "Rules") on the basis of their workload as judges of Trial Chamber I:²

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 15 July 2010, excusing Judge Elizabeth Odio Benito and Judge Adrian Fulford from Trial Chamber III;³

CONSIDERING that the functions of the Trial Chamber shall normally be carried out by three judges of the Trial Division in accordance with article 39(2)(b)(ii) of the Statute;

CONSIDERING also article 39(4) of the Statute, pursuant to which the Presidency may temporarily attach a judge from the Trial Division to the Pre-Trial Division or vice-versa if it considers that the efficient management of the workload of the Court so requires;

CONSIDERING rule 38 of the Rules and regulation 15 of the Regulations of the Court providing for the replacement of judges;

HEREBY DECIDES to temporarily attach Judge Sylvia Steiner, currently assigned to the Pre-Trial Division, to the Trial Division;

¹ ICC-01/05-01/08-534.

² Annex I.

³ Anney II

HEREBY DECIDES that Judge Sylvia Steiner and Judge Kuniko Ozaki, assigned to the Trial Division,⁴ shall replace Judge Elizabeth Odio Benito and Judge Adrian Fulford in Trial Chamber III and that Trial Chamber III shall from henceforth be composed as follows:

Judge Sylvia Steiner

Judge Joyce Aluoch

Judge Kuniko Ozaki.

ORDERS the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the case.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Fatoutmata Dembele Diarra First Vice-President

Dated this 20 July 2010.

At The Hague, The Netherlands

⁴ See press release of 22 January 2010 entitled "New ICC judges assigned to judicial divisions", ICC-CPI-20100122-PR489, available on the website of the Court.