Cour Pénale Internationale



International Criminal Court

Original: English

No.: ICC-Pres-01-09 Date: 19 March 2009

## THE PRESIDENCY

**Before:** 

Judge Sang-Hyun Song, President Judge Fatoumata Dembele Diarra, First Vice-President Judge Hans-Peter Kaul, Second Vice-President

**Public Document** 

Decision on the constitution of Pre-Trial Chambers and on the assignment of the Central African Republic situation

The Office of the Prosecutor Mr Luis Moreno Ocampo, Prosecutor Ms Fatou Bensouda, Deputy-Prosecutor	Counsel for the Defence
Legal Representatives of the Victims	Legal Representatives of the Applicants
Unrepresented Victims	Unrepresented Applicants for Participation/Reparation
The Office of Public Counsel for Victims Ms Paolina Massida	The Office of Public Counsel for the Defence Mr Xavier-Jean Keïta
States Representatives	Amicus Curiae
REGISTRY	
<b>Registrar</b> Ms Silvana Arbia	<b>Defence Support Section</b> Mr Esteban Peralta Losilla
<b>Deputy Registrar</b> Didier Daniel Preira	<b>Detention Section</b> Mr Anders Backman
<b>Victims and Witnesses Unit</b> Mr Simo Vaatainen	
Victims Participation and Reparations Section Ms Fiona Mckay	Other

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court to:

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court (the "Court");

**NOTING** the fourteenth plenary of the judges held on 13 March 2009, during which, *inter alia*, Judges Akua Kuenyehia and Anita Ušacka were assigned to the Appeals Division, Judges Fumiko Saiga, Sanji Mmasenono Monageng and Cuno Tarfusser were assigned to the Pre-Trial Division;

**NOTING** the decision of the Presidency of 24 October 2008 constituting Pre-Trial Chambers whereby, *inter alia*, Pre-Trial Chamber II and Pre-Trial Chamber III were composed of Judges Hans-Peter Kaul, Mauro Politi and Ekaterina Trendafilova;<sup>1</sup>

NOTING that the term of office of Judge Mauro Politi ended on 10 March 2009;

**NOTING** article 39 of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court and regulation 46 of the Regulations of the Court;

## HEREBY DECIDES that henceforth:

- (i) The situation in the Central African Republic shall be assigned to Pre-Trial Chamber II;
- (ii) Pre-Trial Chamber III shall be dissolved;
- (iii) The Pre-Trial Chambers shall be constituted as follows:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>I</sup> ICC-02/04-163, ICC-02/04-01/05-323, ICC-01/05-20, ICC-01/05-01/08-189

Pre-Trial Chamber I Judge Sylvia Steiner Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng Judge Cuno Tarfusser Pre-Trial Chamber II Judge Hans-Peter Kaul Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova Judge Fumiko Saiga

 (iv) The assignment of the situations in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, in Darfur-Sudan, and in Uganda shall remain unchanged.

**ORDERS** the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the Democratic Republic of Congo, Darfur-Sudan, Uganda and Central African Republic situations and cases.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Jang Jun Fong Judge Sang-Hyun Song

President

Dated this 19 March 2009 At The Hague, The Netherlands