

Joanna Roper CMG Ambassador Lange Voorhout 10 2514 ED The Hague The Netherlands

www.fcdo.gov.uk @JoannaRoperFCDO

Prosecutor Karim A. A. Khan QC International Criminal Court Oude Waalsdorperweg 10 2597 AK Den Haag Netherlands

2 March 2022

To the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court,

Acting under article 13(a) and 14(1) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court, I have the honour, acting in coordination with a group of States Parties to the Rome Statute, to notify you of the enclosed referral of the situation in Ukraine.

This referral is made by the following group of States Parties: Republic of Albania, Commonwealth of Australia, Republic of Austria, Kingdom of Belgium, Republic of Bulgaria\*, Canada, Republic of Colombia, Republic of Costa Rica, Republic of Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Kingdom of Denmark, Republic of Estonia, Republic of Finland, Republic of France, Georgia, Federal Republic of Germany, Hellenic Republic, Hungary, Republic of Iceland, Ireland, Republic of Italy, Republic of Latvia, Principality of Liechtenstein, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, Republic of Malta, New Zealand, Kingdom of Norway, Kingdom of the Netherlands, Republic of Poland, Republic of Portugal, Romania, Slovak Republic, Republic of Slovenia, Kingdom of Spain, Kingdom of Sweden\*, Swiss Confederation, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Ambassadors from those other States will submit signed communications to the Office of the Prosecutor shortly.

Yours sincerely

Wareh in

HM Ambassador, acting on behalf of the Government of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

<sup>\*</sup> pending final decision by the Swedish Government and Bulgarian Government

## Copies to

Ambassador Ferit Hoxha, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Albania,

Ambassador Matthew Neuhaus, acting on behalf of the Government of the Commonwealth of Australia,

Chargé d'affaires ad interim Mourad Mahidi, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Austria,

Ambassador William Roelants de Stappers, acting on behalf of the Government of the Kingdom of Belgium,

Ambassador Konstantin Dimitrov, acting on behalf of the Government of Bulgaria\*,

Ambassador Lisa Helfand, acting on behalf of the Government of Canada,

Ambassador Fernando Antonio Grillo Rubiano, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Colombia,

Ambassador Arnoldo Brenes, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Costa Rica,

Ambassador Dubravka Plejić Marković, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Croatia,

Ambassador Frances Galatia Lanitou Williams, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Cyprus,

Ambassador Kateřina Sequensová, acting on behalf of the Government of the Czech Republic,

Ambassador Jarl Kåre Frijs-Madsen, acting on behalf of the Government of the Kingdom of Denmark,

Ambassador Lauri Kuusing, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Estonia,

Ambassador Päivi Marjaana Kaukoranta, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Finland,

Ambassador Luis Vassy, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of France,

Ambassador Kaha Imnadze, acting on behalf of the Government of Georgia,

Ambassador Cyrill Jean Nunn, acting on behalf of the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany,

Ambassador Caterina Ghini, acting on behalf of the Government of the Hellenic Republic,

Ambassador András Kocsis, acting on behalf of the Government of Hungary,

Ambassador Jörundur Valtýsson, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Iceland,

Ambassador Brendan Gerard Rogers, acting on behalf of the Government of Ireland,

Ambassador Giorgio Novello, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Italy,

Ambassador Aiga Liepina, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Latvia,

Ambassador Christian Wenaweser, acting on behalf of the Government of the Principality of Liechtenstein,

Ambassador Jean-Marc Hoscheit, acting on behalf of the Government of the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg,

Ambassador Mark Pace, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Malta,

Ambassador Henk Cor van der Kwast, acting on behalf of the Government of the Kingdom of the Netherlands,

Ambassador Susannah Gordon, acting on behalf of the Government of New Zealand,

Ambassador Bård Ivar Svendsen, acting on behalf of the Government of the Kingdom of Norway,

Ambassador Marcin Czepelak, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Poland,

Ambassador António de Almeida Lima, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Portugal,

Ambassador Lucian Fătu, acting on behalf of the Government of Romania,

Ambassador Juraj Macháč, acting on behalf of the Government of the Slovak Republic,

Ambassador Sanja Štiglic, acting on behalf of the Government of the Republic of Slovenia,

Ambassador Consuelo Femenía Guardiola, acting on behalf of the Government of the Kingdom of Spain,

Ambassador Johannes Oljelund, acting on behalf of the Government of the Kingdom of Sweden\*,

Ambassador Heinz Walker-Nederkoorn, acting on behalf of the Government of the Swiss Confederation,