Cour Pénale Internationale



International Criminal Court

Original: English

No.: ICC-01/04-01/07 Date: 16 April 2014

THE PRESIDENCY

Before:

Judge Sang-Hyun Song, President

Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, First Vice-President

Judge Cuno Tarfusser, Second Vice-President

SITUATION IN THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO

IN THE CASE OF
THE PROSECUTOR v GERMAIN KATANGA

Public with Public Annex I

Decision replacing two judges in Trial Chamber II

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the Regulations of the Court

to:

The Office of the Prosecutor

Counsel for the Defence

Ms Fatou Bensouda

Mr David Hooper

Mr James Stewart

Mr Andreas O'Shea

Mr Eric MacDonald

Legal Representatives of the Victims

Legal Representatives of the Applicants

Mr Jean-Louis Gilissen

Mr Fidel Nsita Luvengika

Unrepresented Victims

Unrepresented Applicants for Participation/Reparation

The Office of Public Counsel

for the Victims

Ms Paolina Massidda

The Office of Public Counsel for the Defence

States Representatives

Amicus Curiae

REGISTRY

Registrar

Counsel Support Section

Mr Herman von Hebel

Victims and Witnesses Unit

Detention Section

Mr Patrick Craig

Victims Participation and Reparations

Section

Other

Ms Fiona McKay

Trial Chamber II

Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi

Judge Olga Herrera Carbuccia

ICC-01/04-01/07-3468 16-04-2014 3/4 EK T

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court ("Court");

NOTING the request transmitted to the Presidency on 7 March 2014 by Judge Bruno Cotte,

presiding judge of Trial Chamber II, to leave the Court at the conclusion of the article 76

proceedings and decision in the case of The Prosecutor v Germain Katanga;

NOTING the request transmitted to the Presidency on 11 March 2014 by Judge Fatoumata

Dembele Diarra, judge of Trial Chamber II, to leave the Court at the conclusion of the article

76 proceedings and decision in the case of *The Prosecutor v Germain Katanga*;

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 16 April 2014, granting the requests of Judges

Cotte and Diarra to leave the Court (Annex I);

CONSIDERING that the functions of the Trial Chamber shall normally be carried out by

three judges of the Trial Division in accordance with article 39(2)(b)(ii) of the Statute;

CONSIDERING rule 38 of the Rules and regulation 15 of the Regulations of the Court

providing for the replacement of judges;

HEREBY DECIDES to reconstitute Trial Chamber II, currently composed of Judges Bruno

Cotte, Fatoumata Dembele Diarra and Christine Van den Wyngaert, in the case of The

Prosecutor v Germain Katanga, as follows effective on the date of the issuance of the article

76 decision:

Judge Christine Van den Wyngaert

Judge Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi

Judge Olga Herrera Carbuccia

ORDERS the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants

in the case.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Judge Sang-Hyun Song

President

Dated this 16 April 2014
At The Hague, The Netherlands