Cour Pénale Internationale



International Criminal Court

Original: English

No.: ICC-01/04-01/06 Date: 29 August 2012

٠.

THE PRESIDENCY

Before:

Judge Sang-Hyun Song, President Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, First Vice-President Judge Cuno Tarfusser, Second Vice-President

•

SITUATION IN THE DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF THE CONGO IN THE CASE OF THE PROSECUTOR v. THOMAS LUBANGA DYILO

Public with two public annexes

Decision replacing a judge in the Appeals Chamber

Decision to be notified in accordance with regulation 31 of the *Regulations of the Court* to:

The Office of the Prosecutor Ms Fatou Bensouda	Counsel for the Defence Ms Catherine Mabille Mr Jean-Marie Biju Duval
Legal Representatives of the Victims Mr Luc Walleyn Mr Franck Mulenda Ms Carine Bapita Buyangandu Mr Paul Kabongo Tshibangu	Legal Representatives of the Applicants
Unrepresented Victims	Unrepresented Applicants for Participation/Reparation
The Office of Public Counsel for Victims Ms Paolina Massidda	The Office of Public Counsel for the Defence Mr Xavier-Jean Keïta
States Representatives	Amicus Curiae

REGISTRY

Registrar Ms Silvana Arbia

Deputy Registrar Mr Didier Preira

Victims and Witnesses Unit

Counsel Support Section Mr Esteban Peralta Losilla

Other Appeals Chamber

Victims Participation and Reparations Section Appears Chamb

THE PRESIDENCY of the International Criminal Court ("Court");

NOTING the appeal entitled "Acte d'appel à l'encontre de la '*Decision establishing the principles and procedures to be applied to reparation*' délivrée par la Chambre de première instance I le 7 août 2012" dated 24 August 2012 ("appeal");¹

NOTING the request for excusal filed before the Presidency on 15 July 2010 by Judge Akua Kuenyehia ("Judge") pursuant to article 41(1) of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("Statute") and rule 33 of the Rules of Procedure and Evidence ("Rules"),² wherein the Judge requested to be excused, *inter alia*, from sitting in all future appeals in the case of *The Prosecutor v. Thomas Lubanga Dyilo* ("case") on the basis of her previous involvement in the pre-trial phase of the case, in the course of which she issued a warrant of arrest for, and confirmed the charges against, Mr Thomas Lubanga Dyilo;

NOTING the decision of the Presidency of 16 July 2010 pursuant to article 41 of the Statute, granting the request for excusal in all future appeals in the case on the ground of the Judge's previous involvement in the case;³

NOTING the composition of the Appeals Chamber as set out in article 39(2)(b)(i) of the Statute, pursuant to which the Appeals Chamber shall be composed of all the judges of the Appeals Division, which in turn is composed of the President and four other judges by virtue of article 39(1) of the Statute;⁴

CONSIDERING rule 38 of the Rules, providing for the replacement of judges;

CONSIDERING regulation 15 of the Regulations of the Court, pursuant to which the Presidency is responsible for the replacement of judges in accordance with article 39 of the Statute, and regulation 12 of the Regulations of the Court, further to which the Presidency shall, in the event that a member of the Appeals Chamber is disqualified, or unavailable for a substantial reason, attach to the Appeals Chamber on a temporary basis a judge from either the Trial or Pre-Trial Division;

¹ ICC-01/04-01/06-2909.

² Annex I.

³ Annex II.

⁴ Following the decision of the Presidency dated 13 March 2012, the Appeals Division is composed of Judges Sang-Hyun Song, Sanji Mmasenono Monageng, Akua Kuenyehia, Erkki Kourula and Anita Ušacka.

HEREBY DECIDES:

For the purpose of the appeal, to temporarily attach Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova, currently assigned to the Pre-Trial Division, to the Appeals Chamber, which shall be composed as follows:

Judge Sang-Hyun Song; Judge Sanji Mmasenono Monageng; Judge Erkki Kourula; Judge Anita Ušacka; and Judge Ekaterina Trendafilova.

ORDERS the Registrar to file and notify this decision to the relevant parties and participants in the case.

Done in both English and French, the English version being authoritative.

Dated this 29 August 2012 At The Hague, The Netherlands